top of page
  • Writer's pictureDelta Daun

Making Things Happen


Bo checking out the tree at Grandmom's

Our trip took a few unexpected turns. We traveled 412 miles with a camper on the way up to NJ from NC to do what I thought would just be some remodeling and it's turned into a rebuild. We were able to get some stuff done though before I left but the rain kept us from doing as much as I had wanted to.



New Shoes

The trailer got some new shoes. My dad had to help me get them on. The lugs were rusted on and he had to use his impact gun to get them off. I am proud to say I do know how to and have changed a tire on my own car, but these suckers were on there and I just couldn't do these myself.



New Latches

I was able to paint my new latches and get the bottoms on. The top part we had a hard time getting off and had to buy a different kind of anchor nut to put behind it and put it on. I'd like to sand it down and paint behind them because these guys were rusted on and it's rusted underneath of them also. The bottom part of the latch I was able to remove and install myself. I put some foam tape behind it to keep it insulated from the rain. They had a putty behind it originally but there wasn't much left behind it. I will probably have to touch it up again or coat it with a clear coat it to keep it from scratching.



Teddy bundled up for winter.

We literally ripped the canvas out of it, it was so dry rotted. I could tare it like paper it was so thin from years of no one keeping up with it. My dad had to figure out a way to wire up one of the stabilizers because it was held up by bungee cords when not in use. I have to see if I can buy a replacement for it.


It felt wrong taking the canvas out of it but I couldn't think of a reason to leave it in over winter just rotting more and getting moldier so I thought the best thing to do was remove it until spring.


It was weird leaving it behind in NJ. My yard looks weird without it being there only though it's only been there for a few months.


This little camper was a big catalyst in my life. Even my mom said that if I hadn't of gotten it, I wouldn't have quit my job and started my journey into my new life. I hope we're able to remake it the way I want to and get a lot of use out of it for a long while. I almost feel like I owe this little camper my life. The least I can do is give it a new one in one way or another.


Have you ever done something or bought something that changed your entire life even though you never realized it would at the time?

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page